Questions I Googled About The Bible

Seems like the more I read the more questions I have. I love the King James version. I don’t care to read the other translations because in an effort to make it easier to pronounce the words, it seems like some of the meaning behind what the verse is actually saying gets changed a little. I was able to find the answers to some of my questions through Google which often led me straight to the exact scripture. Then there are times that Google leads me to ponder more questions. Like boxing for example. I wanted to know what the bible says about martial arts. The scripture I was led to was (1 Corinthians 9:26)  I, therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air: Some say they are speaking about boxing. But that didn’t answer my question. I guess in a way it does but it doesn’t. I wanted to know if I should be enjoying it or not because it is such a violent sport. So I find myself flipping the channels back and forth. Should I or shouldn’t I? I’ll tell you what I came up with at the end of this post. Of course I wanted to know who King James was and the stories of Jesus’ life as a child.

Here are the other questions that I was able to and not able to find answers to:

Which day is the Sabbath (the day reserved for rest) Saturday or Sunday?

What does the bible say about taking Communion? How was it taken then compared to how they do it now?

What is a woman’s role in the church, home and in public?

What does the bible say about homeschooling our kids?

Who is the antiChrist?

Did Jesus ever lay hands on anyone who was gay?

Who is Melchesidek?

When was Satan created?

Why was Moses not allowed to live in the Promised Land?

What does the bible say about rosaries?

What was it about Mother Mary for God to have chosen her among all women?

Now back to boxing. This is what I came up with.  Maybe boxing is okay as a sport. Even though it is violent, there is a method to the madness. It does require skill and fitness. They aren’t just randomly beating each other up. However, what might make it questionable is the attitude of the boxers. It’s the arrogance, cockiness, the trash talking that gives the sport a different spirit.

 

 

 

 

